Who Doesn’t Love a Good Pastry?

This one will be short but sweet.  Like pastry.

I’ve spent the vast majority of my life feeling inadequate in just about every aspect of my life.  I have struggled with anxiety and depression on and off since my teens, and felt awkward and unattractive and worthless.  I placed all of my value in my projected view of my outward appearance, and as a result I have tolerated some of the most unspeakable bullshit you could possibly imagine.  I’m sure I’ll get to that in more detail at a later date, but for now I’ll just say that over the past few years I have built a backbone, let go of the things that were hurtful to hold onto, and gained some self-confidence along the way.  And it might seem silly, but part of that growth was as a result of selfies.  I started taking pictures of myself, and once in a while I would find a picture where I felt like I looked pretty in it.  And then sometimes I even felt beautiful.  Selfies were a part of my road to healing.

Another thing I started to really enjoy was making stupid faces in these pictures and laughing until tears streamed down my face.  Laughing is probably my favourite thing.  Those Snapchat filters they keep coming out with?  I FUCKING LOVE THEM. I have a group chat with some of my closest girlfriends, and I would say roughly once a week they can expect to receive a selfie of me on the toilet.  That’s just how I roll.

One of the first pictures I posted of myself being an idiot on social media is this little gem right here.  I tried to recreate this likeness of a gentleman and a pastry.  And to this day it still makes me laugh.  Enjoy.

img_9332

Leave a Reply

