The Proposal

The coolest thing happened to me last July.  I met the love of my life.  It still sounds strange to say it, especially because I’d been so lost and jaded and angry and anti-marriage until that point.  I even came to a place where I wondered if I would ever meet someone who would love me despite all of my flaws and imperfections and the baggage of my ex-husband’s bullshit.  I didn’t think I could ever trust with such blind, innocent ignorance as I trusted that first one (or the two that followed).  I was broken, and I stayed that way for a long time.

Then, after deleting Tinder for the umpteenth time, my friends convinced me to give it one more shot.  I made a profile which stated “Not looking for a hookup” and that sort of thing.  I was done playing the game.

One day, I came across a profile which caught my attention.  He did look a little younger (he’s not, but he sure does look it, as people love to point out), but I liked his aviator sunglasses and his smile and the fact that in all of his pictures he was being silly and he was also hiking in the gorge–which showed me he had motivation.  His profile stated that he was a genuine guy, and that he had a daughter who was his world.  I decided to give it a shot.  I swiped in his favour (I honestly can’t remember which way you swipe when you like someone, that’s how long it’s been since I’ve Tindered) and I think we were matched for a week or two before he finally sent me a message.  (I hated messaging people first, because I already felt so defeated by love that the thought of putting myself out there even further was just not something I could handle at that point).

We got to chatting back and forth and soon discovered that we both love sushi, and also that we both worked at the same place and had somehow never seen each other in the almost 9 years I had been working there.  I’m not 100% clear anymore of which things took place in which order, so he will have to forgive me if he reads this, or else he will be correcting me afterwards, but I believe he saw me in the cafeteria and introduced himself while I was getting salad.  We talked for a minute and then I left to eat my lunch, and my first impression was that he was tall, very shy and nervous and also a bit of a geek.  But so am I; it’s just harder to tell, so I didn’t mind that.  In fact, I thought it was cute.

We continued to talk and one day I stopped by his house after work because he was having a fire in the back yard.  I stayed for a beer and a quick ten-minute chat as I had friends waiting for me, and I left feeling like I could have stayed and talked to him all night.  It was so comfortable to be around him.  He wasn’t loud or boisterous, he didn’t brag, he was still very shy, and he was kind and respectful.  You could just tell.

That weekend he went away camping with his family and there was no service at his campground, and it was so hard for both of us not to be able to talk.  We were excited when their trip got rained out and he got to come home early.  Shortly after that, we had our first date.

I went over to his house and he introduced me to his cats and showed me how to play this flight simulator game because he loves aviation.  He has tattoos on his arm of some of his favourite planes.  We talked a while and then decided to go for dinner, and I think we were out eating and talking for two or three hours because we just couldn’t stop.  After that I drove him back to his place and we had our first kiss in the car.  And let me tell you it was lovely.  I didn’t want to go at all, but I didn’t want to screw things up with him either, so after a few minutes he got out and went upstairs and I drove home dizzy with thoughts of his lips and butterflies in my chest.  Like a real date should be.

Fast forward to our first anniversary, which fell on July 10th, 2016.  I let him decide what we should do, so he drove me to the pier in Port Dalhousie and we sat on a bench to watch the water (and supposedly the sunset, although apparently I felt it necessary to complain that the sun was still high in the sky and roasting us and would be doing so for at least another couple of hours.  I’m classy like that).  We exchanged gifts, and I went first.  I gave him a customized stainless steel dog tag which reads “Trev + Crim Forever” on one side and then says “I Love Your F**kin Face!” on the other (because we say that to each other all the time).  In the card I had written a bit about how much he meant to me, and I apologized for making him read so much, to which he replied “It’s okay, I’ll get you back.”

He handed me my present and I unwrapped it and it was a book with my name on the front.  This, in itself, is a big deal because growing up with a name like Crimson, you don’t find many things that have your name on it.  You think I ever got one of those name tags for my bedroom door like other kids did?  Fuck no.  This was the 80’s.  All I got was a side ponytail.  So I was thrilled.  It looks like this:

20161012_220531.jpg

He then asked me to read it to him out loud.  This book looks like a novel.  It’s thick.  But I obliged, and opened it up and began reading.  Each page depicted two little stick figures which had been customized to look like the two of us, and on each page was a different thing that he loves about me.  I’m going to include some of the pages below, and let me just say how hard it was to choose “just a few” because there are 169 of them and they are all awesome.  He found 169 things he likes about me!  Unreal!

I got midway in and started tearing up because this was the most thoughtful, heartfelt, beautiful gift I have ever received.  The fact that he thinks this highly of me, and that he went to these lengths to create something so amazing speaks volumes (pun intended).  He asked me to keep reading, and finally I got to a page that looked like this:

20161012_222104.jpg

. . . followed by this:

20161012_222112.jpg

And then he got down on one knee right there, and gave me this:

wp-1477149948878.jpg

And asked me to marry him.

And I, being the classy girl that I am, yelled “Of COURSE I’ll fuckin’ marry you!” and threw my arms around his neck and kissed him all over his face.

Gentlemen, I have to say, you’ve got your work cut out for you if you want to top this proposal.  He asked me to marry him with a book that he created that had the two of us watching the sunset on the cover, while we were watching the sunset, filled with things that he loves about me.  That’s romantic as hell.  That’s what we all deserve.  I didn’t  always believe that I did, but let me tell you that after all I’ve been through to finally find this man, I definitely do deserve it.  And I am going to love and cherish him for the rest of our lives, because that’s what he deserves, too.

Thank you Trevor for loving me.  I wouldn’t be the same without you.

For anyone interested in making their own book like this, I believe they do have several different kinds that you can customize to your liking.  I will give them a shout-out at no benefit to me, their website is: LoveBooks

6 thoughts on “The Proposal

  1. the thought put into the proposal alone is enough to make me tear up reading it. I am so grateful that you finally found a real man , a caring thoughtful  person that loves you. That’s he way it should be , you are worth it inside and out your a wonderful thoughtful understanding person with a great sense of humour  and endless wonderful chartactoristics {cant spell moving on }  . I am delighted for Bot of you . And greatful to see my daughters light inside shine more brightly then I have ever seen before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mom I’m only the way I am because you raised me 🙂 I’m glad I finally found a man who you actually like and approve of me being with. It makes family gatherings that much more fun 🙂 xoxox

      Like

Leave a Reply

