Once Upon a Time

This is a poem that I believe I wrote when I was in high school.  So that would have been about 15 or 16 years ago.

************************************************************************

Once upon a time, I danced happily along a wide road in the bright morning sunlight.  And the birds sang and flitted above me in the sky with songs so beautiful they made my heart sing.

Once upon a time, I had many wonderful friends running and dancing beside me on this road.  And we held hands and felt the soft soil tickle beneath and between our bare toes.

Once upon a time, I had a family to love and support me on my journey down this long, never-ending road.  And they loved me for who I was and no less, and encouraged me to always try my hardest.

Once upon a time, I raced quickly down this road, never looking down and always laughing into the sun and the soft-scented breeze.  And the wind blew my hair and tickled my neck, and I felt as though I was flying and I would never touch the ground again.

Once upon a time, I never looked at what lay below me; always facing the sun were my eyes.  And I never noticed when the ground beneath me toughened and I left my happy friends and family behind.

Once upon a time, my foot slipped and I tripped over a large, heavy stone in the road.  And the pain was so strong that I could do nothing but cry for help that wasn’t there.

Once upon a time, I lay upon my road and hugged my knees to me, fearing everything around me and feeling the intense pain stab at my soul.  And I thought that I could never stand on my own again.

Once upon a time, a soothing voice overcame the sounds of my cries.  And I looked up to see the silhouette of a man standing before me on the road.

Once upon a time, I opened my ears and heard the soothing voice for all the great things it was.  And he whispered words of encouragement and positivity into my ears, and gave me the strength he possessed.

Once upon a time, I rose to my wobbly knees and looked into his beautiful, sincerely smiling face.  And he held out his hand, toughened and callused by hard work and all the good deeds he had done.

Once upon a time, I reached for that promising hand, and held it in my own small fingers.  And he helped me to stand on my own again, and feel the sun and the breeze, and hear the songs that had all died away.

Once upon a time, we turned from the way I had come to the way we were going, and we smiled into the future with big, brave grins.  And we challenged the road to try and harm us, while we were together, hand in hand.

Once upon a time, and even now, we still run along that path, and we never let go.  And this time, we are sure to look both at the beauty of the sky above and they instability of the road below.

fb_img_1479846891588.jpg

2 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time

    1. Right? I think that at the time, I was writing about God. But it does work for the relationship now, doesn’t it? It’s a comfort to know I will never feel alone like that again. I was always lost when I was younger. Now I feel like I am grounded and I have a good grip on my life. Love you xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

